top of page

PME 810: Module Three


This is where I ended up with my extension of Module 1 and 2 into Module 3 (which added the Planning, Instruction, and Assessment fields to the graphic).

This exercise surprised me quite a bit. I did the reading and I watched the videos (I'd seen a couple of them before, though), but when I finally put digital pen to paper to create this module's product I was surprised at how much I had already clarified the knowledge of planning/instruction/assessment in my understanding of the first two modules (and especially the second). To put it another way: in order for me to complete the colourful part of my graphic, I had (without really realizing it) broken down the earlier readings into a subconscious understanding of how each curriculum conceptualization and philosophical background handled each of the three stages of education. Huh.

I think what I've learned from that realization is that, while these three stages are integral to our craft, they are also integral to one another and join this great continuum of why, what, and how we teach - and it's more integral than I realized. WE do it everyday; we go to work with this background idea of how we want our students to feel while they learn, we teach the lessons we've prepared with that idea in mind, and we assess with it in mind (even hoping to find some evidence of that idea coming through). I'm not sure why I never thought about that integral-ness (pardon my clumsy new word) but it's important.

This module has also brought home just how much many of us (most of us?) are trying to teach from one place under the firm hand of another - how many of us have no choice but to 'teach to the test' when we can clearly see that that is not what our kids need?

What's the answer, though? It seems to me that there are hints in the videos we watched that it's possible to plan and teach (and maybe even assess) in a student-centric way when the powers that be need content-driven data. I don't mean something as simple as teaching the material your way, but something grander - like doing away with grades altogether (as I'm sure Ken Robinson would love to see). What do you think?

Hello there!
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page